Six Fu Organs (Six Bowels)

The Six Fu Organs of the Zang-Fu System are:

  • Gallbladder (GB, Dan)
  • Stomach (ST, Wei)
  • Small Intestine (SI, Xiao Chang)
  • Large Intestine (LI, Da Chang)
  • Urinary Bladder (BL, Pang Guang)
  • Tripple Burner (SJ, San Jiao)

The common function of the Six Fu-organs is “to transport and transform food”. That means to receive and digest food, absorb nutrients and discharge waste. Compared to the six Zang , the Fu are considered more Yang and hollow. They are primarily responsible for the reception and storage of food and drink, the passage and absorption of their transformation products as well as the excretion of waste.