Five Zang Organs

The Five Zang Organs refer to: the heart, liver, spleen, lung, and kidney. The common function of the five zang organs is “to store jing-qi (essence)” which is energy refined from nutritional food and is therefore responsible for the maintenance of life activities. They form part of the overall Zang-Fu Organ Theory in Traditional Chinese Medicine.